SANTA, INC is a dumpster fire. Here are 5 lesser-known Christmas stories for adults that actually celebrate Christmas.

With all the negative audience reaction towards that scrooge of a “””Christmas””” show SANTA, INC., I thought I’d post a few of my favorite, obscurer Christmas shows/books/games that my husband and I enjoy. Nothing edgy here, but these shows/books have a more adult sensibility to them than some other Christmas specials.

If you’ve enjoyed any of these specials, games, or books before, feel free to reminisce in the comments section!


OLIVE, THE OTHER REINDEER screenshotOLIVE, THE OTHER REINDEER

Executive-produced by Simpsons-legend Matt Groening, this TV special (based on the children’s picture book) about a dog who thinks Santa wants her to fill in for an injured reindeer is full of dry and witty jokes that fly fast and furious. Also, it has a bar brawl.
Drew Barrymore’s endearing here as upbeat and optimistic Olive. And if you like FUTURAMA you’ll hear a lot of familiar voices in the supporting cast. I’m partial to worldly con-artist Martini the Penguin, however!

Purchasable through Amazon.


PREP AND LANDING promotional imagePREP AND LANDING

My family watches this EVERY Christmas! It’s a Pixelvania tradition!
With 2 half-hour specials, an even shorter short film, there’s plenty to enjoy from this world of high-tech elves on Christmas night. (Think of the beginning of ARTHUR CHRISTMAS, but zoomed in to just the elves’ point of view.)
Like so many things made during the golden age of Pixar, it addresses adult concerns (feeling tired of Christmas, feeling unappreciated) in an entertaining way and is chock full of great jokes and sight gags that reward repeat viewing.

Currently streaming on Disney Plus.


KLAUS promotional imageKLAUS

While not perfect, as a 2D animation nut, I adore what they’ve done with the art form. And watching cynical Jesper change his ways is oh-so-satisfying. I seem to recall the townsfolk having a little bit of a Tim Burton vibe, too (I don’t have Netflix)

Currently streaming on Netflix.


Title screen for DRACULA CHA CHADRACULA CHA CHA and SKEAL

Playing these two short, ridiculous, off-the-wall indie Christmas games is another Pixelvania Christmas tradition!

Here’s a touch more info on the winter-wonderland catchy-music single-button platformer(?!) that is DRACULA CHA CHA here on Rock, Paper, Shotgun.

But I refuse to tell you anything about SKEAL because it is so short and the gag is so amazing.
Game page and browser version here.


A GINGERSNAP CAT CHRISTMAS Book Cover: A ginger cat with a halo smiles at a terrified black and grey kitten hiding behind him.A GINGERSNAP CAT CHRISTMAS

I wrote a Christian Christmas book that’s basically HIGHWAY TO HEAVEN with kitties as the angels. While the focus is on the kitties winning over the kids, the kids themselves are dealing with a family member permanently altered from an accident, and their mom has housing and job worries during Christmas.

Ebook available here.

Paperback on Amazon.


That’s all for now! Thanks for reading!

The perfect last-minute (digital) stocking stuffer – MIDWINTER MAGIC

Cover for MIDWINTER MAGIC: A stylized glowing reindeer leaps against the blue Northern Lights

Once upon a time, magic left the world for a night. It sighed back in through the scullery door in the morning with the cat, but by then, the Queen of the Northern Elves had fallen into a deep sleep, and, greatly diminished, the returned magic could not wake her.

From the author who brought you The Purrfect Christmas and A Gingersnap Cat Christmas comes an enchanting collection of three original yuletide fairy tales, written in the tradition of Jane Yolen and Ursula Vernon.


A little Christmas present from me to you. If you like reindeer, Santa Claus, elves, and mythic origin stories, you’re probably gonna dig this.

Buy from your favorite eBook retailer here (includes Amazon)

More info and excerpt here on MIDWINTER MAGIC’s Pixelvania Publishing page.

New! A GINGERSNAP CAT CHRISTMAS – my first paperback release!

A GINGERSNAP CAT CHRISTMAS Book Cover: A ginger cat with a halo smiles at a terrified black and grey kitten hiding behind him.

Gingersnap Cat is an orange tabby feeling blue. Heaven’s paradise, but it’s just not home without his human family by his side. Not even Christmas with his feline friends can cheer him up.

But when Heaven needs an extra paw, Gingersnap answers the call. Sent back to Earth, Gingersnap must help a little kitten fulfill a big destiny!

Announcing my latest Christmas novel (and first paperback release!), A Gingersnap Cat Christmas.

If you’re like me, you love Christmas specials like Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer, Disney’s Prep and Landing, and A Garfield Christmas Special. But while all of these shows are great at talking about Christmas spirit, it’s hard to find a kid-friendly story (with exception of A Charlie Brown Christmas) that even mentions Jesus Christ, the actual reason for the season. And it’s doubly hard to find a Christian Christmas story that’s not too…well…preachy.

That’s why I wrote A GINGERSNAP CAT CHRISTMAS–to meld all the festive fun of a classic Christmas special without leaving the Savior out of his own celebration.

(I also wanted to write a story where the cats are the heroes, instead of selfish jerks.)

Anyway, if you ever wondered what Highway to Heaven would’ve been like with feline stars, you’ll love A Gingersnap Cat Christmas.

At 200 pages long, it’s a great novel for voracious young readers, but with 25 chapters, families can read a chapter a night in December for a new Christmas tradition.

You can…

Thanks for reading, everyone! I hope this book can help you whittle down your Christmas list early. 😉

Sneak Peek: Gingersnap Cat print novel in progress!

Screenshot of A GINGERSNAP CAT CHRISTMAS as it's being worked on in Scribus

As previous reported, A Gingersnap Cat Christmas was written last year but didn’t get out in time for Christmas 2017. So once I was finished, I vowed to use the extra time before Christmas 2018 to turn it into a print book.

So here it is! Being worked on in the free program Scribus.

I’m sitting here realizing that it’s kinda wild that I went from knowing nothing about book production to, you know, making pages of a novel I wrote. When the proof’s actually in my hands, though, then I’ll know I can conquer the world.

A GINGERSNAP CAT CHRISTMAS cover reveal, plus vampire novel news

Hi, everybody! February knocked me down with a nasty cold/bronchitis illness so I’m still getting into the swing of things.

A Gingersnap Cat Christmas was finished, um…January, probably? And is in “post” so to speak. But since I missed my deadline, rather than releasing it right away, I’ll be looking into making it into a print book for next Christmas!

In the meantime, please enjoy the fabulous finished cover!

A GINGERSNAP CAT CHRISTMAS Book Cover: A ginger cat with a halo smiles at a terrified black and grey kitten hiding behind him.

(My husband desperately wants me to animate the kitten rising up…Any volunteers?)

In other news, my nosferatu novel hit 40K…and it’s just getting started! Hoo-wee!

The fate of the Kitty Christmas Story…

The good news is: the content’s finished (almost made it to 40K!), it’s in my proofreader’s hands, and the story’s cute!

The bad news: I missed my Christmas deadline (obviously)!

But that’s OK. As soon as it’s ready, it will be posted here for your reading pleasure (even if you don’t get to it ’til Christmas 2018!).

Thanks for sticking with me, folks!

Currently on the docket: Frenchies 2, Nosferatu Novel, SCVK edits.

20K words reached on new kitty Christmas story!

A Gingersnap Cat Christmas has hit 20,000 words and is still going! (I’m still in the process of typing up what I’ve hand-written.) I didn’t achieve my Thanksgiving goal, but now I’m curious to see how long it ends up!

My plan is to type up what I have, fill in a couple of missing scenes, make a cover while the typos get checked, and…well, hopefully publish it before Christmas! Whew!

10K Words reached in new kitty Christmas story!

Whoo! My latest story, A Gingersnap Cat Christmas, just hit 10,000 words! Since I want it finished by Thanksgiving, I’ve been trying to write on it even on days when I’m Not Feeling It™. So far, it’s working! Even on my argleblargle days I’m managing between 700-1400 words an hour. Stay tuned to see if I manage this audacious goal!