5 Great Books for your Fantasy Reader in 2021 – The Pixelvania Publishing Holiday Gift Guide 2021

Most fiction lovers enjoy a receiving new paperback around the holidays, but it can be tricky picking out the right book for your fantasy reader friend. Do you buy a popular title that your reader may already own? Or do you send a gift card and hope opening it doesn’t feel lackluster on the big day?

Here’s another option: consider buying a fantasy book written by an independent author like me, Danielle Williams! It’s fun discovering a new up-and-coming writer who hasn’t yet caught the wave of popularity–and it practically guarantees your fantasy reader won’t have a copy in their collection yet.

To help you shop, here’s 5 books from my catalog that would make a great holiday gift for your fantasy reader friend!

This list includes the the title’s paperback page count and assigned content rating from MyBookRatings.com

Cover for MIDWINTER MAGIC: A stylized glowing reindeer leaps against the blue Northern LightsMidwinter Magic (91 paperback pages, rated All Ages)

Three interconnected fairy tales reimagine the origins of the Christmas elves, flying reindeer, and Santa Claus in this collection filled with timeless charm. Midwinter Magic is a terrific gift for fans of Jane Yolen or Ursula Vernon.

Get the book Find out more

 


Cover for THE CAPRAMANCER NEXT DOOR: A laughing woman wields a glowing shepherd's crook while a goat leaps through a portal overhead The Capramancer Next Door (175 paperback pages, rated Mild+, Also available in large print.)

A down-to-earth mage and her magical goats must protect their new neighbor when he crosses an angry fairy in this short novel. Grown fans of Harry Potter are sure to like The Capramancer Next Door for its magical yet grounded adventure that’s sprinkled with of humor and romance.

Get the book Find out more

(And if your reader likes stickers, grab our cool Elvis the Goat sticker here on Redbubble!)


Cover for STEEL CITY, VEILED KINGDOM, PART 1 - A man in a labcoat holding a rabbit on a strange device, with a monster in the background. A seafoam green banner and some text near the bottom indicates that this is the first part.Steel City, Veiled Kingdom, part 1: Surface (246 paperback pages, rated Moderate)

In his darkest hour, an ambitious young scientist strikes a deal with the bizarre Queen of the faerie world. Little does he know her help comes at a cost even he cannot calculate.

Blending the sci-fi/fantasy flavors of Star Trek, GATTACA, and even The Fifth Element, this novel full of colorful characters and unique cultures spans five volumes and is the perfect match for the Brandon Sanderson or Dune fan in your life.

Friends with a voracious reader? Grab ’em The Complete Edition ebook instead–it’ll last ’em a while, believe me!

Get the book Find out more


A GINGERSNAP CAT CHRISTMAS Book Cover: A ginger cat with a halo smiles at a terrified black and grey kitten hiding behind him.A Gingersnap Cat Christmas (199 paperback pages, rated All Ages)

For Christian kids and kids-at-heart. If you ever wondered what HIGHWAY TO HEAVEN would’ve been like with feline stars, you’ll love A Gingersnap Cat Christmas. This full-length novel is available in two formats: eBook AND paperback–because everyone loves to unwrap a book.

This book is a great gift for:

      • cat lovers (of course)
      • fans of feel-good Christmas specials (like yours truly)
      • Christians (especially ones who want to see their faith positively portrayed)
      • voracious young readers (the paperback’s 200 pages!)
      • time-strapped families (25 chapters means you can read one a day until Christmas)
      • dog lovers (yup, couldn’t leave out the talking dogs!)
      • readers who enjoyed The Purrfect Christmas (you’ll see why in chapter nine 😉

Get the book Find out more


Cover for the large print edition of THE WITCHING LICENSE: A green hand grabs a purple witch's hat trailing stars against a magical glowing blue moon. The Witching License (Large Print Edition) (135 large print paperback pages, rated Mild+. Also available in standard print.)

A dying woman uses her last night on earth—and newfound magical powers—to right the most important wrongs in her life. By turns sassy and touching, The Witching License is a quicker read that your seasoned fantasy reader can enjoy in large print format.

Pixelvania Publishing’s large print books are designed according to specifications recommended by the Council of Citizens with Low Vision International, which gives these books a radically different look than my other paperbacks, so be sure to use the “Look Inside” feature on Amazon to make sure it’s what your reader will want!

Get the large print book Find out more


The Purrfect Christmas (Cover). Three animals: a smiling Golden retriever wearing a sequined santa hat to the left, a gently smiling orange tabby wearing a green bow to the right, and frowning in the middle, a grumpy longhaired brown tabby.

BONUS! Need a last-minute digital stocking stuffer? The Purrfect Christmas is a great choice! (digital only, rated All Ages)

A widow’s cat teams up with neighbors to save Christmas in this cute, Christian short story about helping others. Terrific for families who want something shorter to read together. With 12 chapters, you can read one chapter a day for the twelve days of Christmas, then finish the epilogue on Boxing Day!

Get the ebook Find out more


There you have it! My  gift recommendations for fantasy readers this 2021 holiday season! Happy shopping!

Danielle

My new horror book, CHRYSTINE’S SLEEP SOLUTION, is in a Halloween promo! (B2R Spooks2Read)

Ohmygoshyouguys I’m so jazzed! My latest horror book, CHRYSTINE’S SLEEP SOLUTION, is part of a new Books2Read Promo!
(I’m relieved my cover looks like it belongs with the other kids!)

Check it out here: https://books2read.com/rl/spooks2read

Promo graphic for the Spooks2Read horror ebook promo

(Chrystine is listed under the “Horror” section right there up top!)

It’d help me and the other authors out a ton if you’d share this promotion with your friends and family. Just share this post to anyone you think would love to find their next favorite book!

Looks like there’s some great spooky stories to be had for every budget and taste!

Thanks so much for your help and support!

New horror-suspense tale CHRYSTINE’S SLEEP SOLUTION released just in time for Halloween!

I don’t know about you, but when fall arrives, it’s not pumpkin-spice-flavored-everything I look forward to. Instead, I like to get into the Halloween mood by reading spooky stories.

If you do, too, great news! I just released an original midlength horror story titled Chrystine’s Sleep Solution.

Cover for CHRYSTINE'S SLEEP SOLUTION: a front view of a woman with her eyes peacefully closed, but in front of her mouth is a cellphone displaying a distorted, screaming mouth on its screen.

It’s about a woman who downloads a phone app to help her sleep, but…there’s something off about it.

Get the details here

or

Buy it now

Paperback only available at Amazon. Ebook available at your favorite digital retailers.

I’m very pleased how this one turned out, and I hope you like reading it as much as I did writing it!

The Pixelvania Publishing Proclamation of Progress, August 2021 Edition

The Pixelvania Publishing Proclamation o’ Progress is a semiannual post detailing what’s going on around here, and what might show up in the future. It also includes reviews of shows, books, games, products, etc. you may also like. It’s only posted twice a year so as not to clog up your valuable, beautiful brain space.

Cute kitty photo at the end.

Recap

Here’s what’s been published since the last post:

Coming Soon

Read More …

Intriguing science fantasy STEEL CITY, VEILED KINGDOM just released in paperback!

Woohoo! It’s been over a year since the ebook releases, but the paperback volumes of Steel City, Veiled Kingdom are finally available for your reading pleasure! Click the banner below to grab your copies.

STEEL CITY, VEILED KINGDOM is now out in paperback! Click here to get your copy on Amazon.

Buttloads of thanks go to Colleen over at Ampersand Book Interiors, who made the pages look absolutely stunning! I couldn’t be happier with these paperbacks!

Check out my behind-the-scenes interview for THE WITCHING LICENSE

People are always asking authors, “How do you get your ideas?” Well, you can find out a little bit about how I got my idea for The Witching License (along with some other behind-the-scenes tidbits) in this interview I did with A.L. Butcher.

Read now

The Witching License is now available with 12 other fantasy stories in the new Here Be More Magic ebook bundle.

The HERE BE MORE MAGIC ebook bundle, visualized as a boxed set of books

 

The HERE BE MORE MAGIC Ebook Bundle–a terrific value for fantasy readers!

Are you a voracious fantasy reader? Then listen up, ‘cuz I’ve got a tasty bargain for you today! THE WITCHING LICENSE, my gentle tale of regret, romance, and righting wrongs, is in a new book bundle, called HERE BE MORE MAGIC!

The HERE BE MORE MAGIC ebook bundle, visualized as a boxed set of books

This bundle’s an amazing value–for $5.99 you get my story, THE WITCHING LICENSE, plus 12 other stories by other fantasy authors, eight of which are NOVELS. That’s a baker’s dozen of enchanting tales!

Get your copy here!

 

The Pixelvania Proclamation of Progress, February 2021 Edition

The Pixelvania Proclamation o’ Progress is a semiannual post detailing what’s going on around here, and what might show up in the future. It also includes reviews of shows, books, games, products, etc. you may also like. It’s only posted twice a year so as not to clog up your valuable, beautiful brain space.

Cute kitty photo at the end.

Recap/Cover Makeover

Here’s what’s been published since the last post:

Nothing! Whoa! But I do have one thing to show off: thanks to artist Christian Bunyan, THE BUREAUCRAT’s got a new cover that ups the creep factor by ten! Here’s the before and after, in case you missed it:

Read More …

Pixelvania Ebook Stores: Amazon Alternatives

Y’all know that my books are available through Amazon. Of course! But did you know you can also buy my ebooks at other digital stores?

My Books2Read.com page has a list of all my ebooks; click the “buy” link for any one and you can choose from 9 other stores to buy your ebook from (including Apple, Barnes & Noble, and Kobo). You also have an option to set your default store so any B2R link you click sends you straight there!

On PixelvaniaPublishing.com, the “Buy Ebook” button on each book’s page uses my Books2Read purchasing links by default, so you can set your preferred store without needing to go to my Books2Read page. But if you like the Books2Read page, that link is always at the bottom of the website, in the footer.

My Pixelvania Gumroad Store also has all my ebooks for sale. This one’s a little more advanced–after purchasing, you’ll get the files themselves (.mobi and .epub) if you know how to sideload them onto your device (or are comfortable learning how), this is another alternative store you can use for buying my ebooks.

Are there other places you think I should be selling my ebooks? Share ’em with me in the comments below!

Now offering shirts and other merchandise!

Loved the book? Now you can wear the T-shirt! Pixelvania Publishing now offers print-on-demand apparel, stickers, mugs, and other stuff for sale! There’s official stores at a few different places, so you can pick your favorite one:

More designs will be posted as time goes on! Got a request? Leave it here!